Online Sales Tax for Furniture

States Requiring Tax Collection for Online Purchases

Green states on the map are ones we collect taxes for.

Sales Tax Collection states

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • North Carolina
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Virginia
  • Vermont
  • Washington

Why We're Collecting Sales Tax

On June 21, 2018 the US Supreme Court ruled that states have the right to collect sales tax from online retailers. As a small business, we are not required to collect sales tax in many states, as shown above. 

Tax Free Days

Do watch for special tax free days offered by your state government.  If you've been planning to make a purchase, that's the perfect day to do it -- no tax! We'll announce Tax Free Days on Facebook, in our newsletter and on our blog so sign up for notifications & be sure not to miss it out.

Please Note

If you are buying furniture and having it shipped to your home in a state where we are not required to collect tax, check with your state sales tax department regarding their policy on Internet purchases. You may be responsible to remit the sales tax for your Internet purchases.